How to set up your first campaign ?

How to set up your first campaign ?

Now you are able to create your first AdWords Campaign !

Select “create my first campaign”, then choose your ad campaign’s settings. When you choose settings, remember all the time what your customers are expecting about your business. Write your first ad relative to a specific product.For example  : if you sell shoes and t-shirt, you have to create to separate ads group. More precisely, for each ads group you can also separate your ads in different type. For example : Sports shoes, Leather shoes, Ladies shoes… After, select keywords for each ads. Think relative to the search of customers (what customers write on the search bar ?) to reach the right people. Keywords must contain 3 terms maximum to be efficient.

Picturing your customers is one of the main things to do for being sure that your ads work. The best tip is to create a mental profile about customers preferences and behavior.

– Words and Phrases : Which words or expressions customers usually are putting into the search bar ?

– Favorite Website : Who are your competitor ? Where your customers go for buying your products if they don’t go on your website ?

Geographical Location : Choose carefully the location for your business, it depends if you want to do business locally, regionally, nationally or internationally. For example : my business is a bakery, normally i prefer to target locally and  regionally. if I’m the best baker in my country, I could expand my business at national and international level.

– Email or Call (phone number): What customers use to contact you ? Put in your ads your phone numbers if it’s the best way to contact you…

Steps to create a campaign 

– Sign in at https://adwords.google.com

–  Click on Create your first campaign

– Select how much you are willing to pay in “Bidding and Budget” / Create your ad with number phone, map, email / Choose where you want that your ads to appear : Geographical location, languages, websites

– Click Save and Continue

Create your ads

– Create an ad : Select text and headline to best describe your product or service.

– Put the URL of destination and the Display URL (URL is the link who permit customers to access to your website, in the right page, directly related to your product or service in your ad)

– Keywords : Put a list of 10 to 20 keywords for each ad that you’ve created

– Save and Continue to billing

Now you are on the good way to become a professional of AdWords ! Be patient, You are not too far from your objective = Grow your company and increase your turnover !!

The difference between a campaign and an ad group ?

The difference between a campaign and an ad group ?

adwords_1704396_example_ad_campaign2_en

As you can see, the structure of a campaign is very simple.

Campaign : you have to put the product or the service that you provide to customers. The advantage of segmentation of your campaign is to analyze separately performances of each campaign for each “family of product”. This picture show you two types of furniture but we can imagine to add Garden furniture or kitchen furniture.

Ad Group : it’s represents the subcategory of the campaign. You have to accurate more details about products or services. Add the different type of products of the range. the proper term is the width of the range. As you can see for Campaign “Tables” there is 2 products, “Coffee Tables” and “Bedside Tables”. If you have more models of tables, create an other AdGroup.

Ads : Your ads appears on the Google Display Network on the right side and also above organic research. this could be your ads that display on this page, take example of well-known companies to create your ads if you have difficulties. The position of your ads depends of quality score that google give you. It’s a rank between 1 and 10, more your quality score is high, less you will pay for your ads. Look at the lesson about quality score to learn more about it. ADS

You learn more and more… You are just annoying. Next time, it will be you who will give me the lesson… 😛

How daily budgets work ?

How daily budgets work ?

What is a daily budget ? It’s an amount that you set for each ad campaign to specify how much, on average, you’d like to spend each day. Then you can set an average budget for each AdWords campaign, the system will display you ads as much as possible until your budget is over. Typically, when your budget is reached, Google stops the display of your ads. To control expenses, you can set option in “Ad delivery Option”, you select the display speed of your ads.

Your daily budget may be exceed of 20%, we call that the “Over-delivery”, but occasionally it may be less important. For 1 month, you will always pay 30,4 days that’s means  30,4 times your daily budget, never more.

It’s important to anticipate your daily budget according to your performance. You must also anticipate it by checking your campaign performance, the cost of your campaign. And adjust the daily budget if you think it’s could be relevant for your performances.

Select your Daily Budget 

– Sign in to http://adwords.google.com

– Click on “Campaign Tab”

– Click on “+New Campaign”

– Select Campaign Settings, go to section “Bidding and Budget”, Finally go to “Daily Campaign Budget”

– Save and continue

Look at theses following techniques for spending your campaign budget more effectively :

  • Lower your bids for campaigns that are “limited by budget,” potentially reducing the average Cost Per Click.
  • Let AdWords automatically bid for you to get as many clicks as possible with your campaign’s current daily budget.
  • Choose “Standard delivery” for your ads, instead of “Accelerated delivery.”
  • Look at the recommended budget to estimate how a different budget could improve your performance

I hope that you are always focused, be brave !!

How ads are ranked ?

How ads are ranked ?

In each page of Google search, you can see ads above organic search and on the right side. The ads on the top rank are 3 and they are above the organic search on a background color. The others are on the right side and can be 8 on maximum. So you have 11 rank on each Google page.  Being the first position has real advantage because you benefit of more visibility.

People use Google for speed of research and also for the relevance of their query. Google try to provide them the best relevance. More relevant your ads are, more people click on it. Google AdWords have created a measurement for that, called “Quality score”. It means when your quality score is high, you have a better Ad rank and your Cost per Click is decreased significantly.

For better understanding, the Quality Score is an estimation of relevance of your ads, keywords and landing page for a specific query. In fact your Score increase if the person who clicks on your ads finds what he is searching for directly.

You can check your Quality Score by looking within your Keywords tab. There are a couple ways to check your Quality Score, as shown below.

Run a keyword diagnosis:

  1. Click the Campaigns tab at the top.
  2. Select the Keywords tab.
  3. Click the white speech bubble Ad disapproval bubble next to any keyword’s status to see details about that keyword’s Quality Score. You’ll be able to see ratings for expected click-through rate, ad relevance, and landing page experience.

Another way to see your Quality Score is to enable the Qual. score column:

  1. Click the Campaigns tab at the top.
  2. Select the Keywords tab.
  3. Look for the Qual. score column in the statistics table. If you don’t see this column in your table, you can add this column by doing the following:
    • Click the Columns drop-down in the toolbar above the statistics table.
    • Select Customize columns.
    • Select Attributes.
    • Click Add next to Qual. score.
    • Click Save.

Each Keywords are ranked in a scale from 1 to 10. Google AdWords recalculates your Quality Score each time you are eligible for an Ad auction. Ad Auction is the competition to appear on a Google page, more you are often choose to appear on Google page, more your Quality Score will be high.  When a customer triggers your ads, Google recalculates immediately your Quality Score.

How is it possible improving Quality Score ?

Look at different following data :

– Click-Through (CTR) Rate of your keywords : How often the keyword has triggered a click on your ads ?

– CTR of your Display URL : How often your URL triggers a click?

– Account History : CTR Ads + CTR Keywords

– Quality of your Landing Page : You have to watch the second video on this lesson

Relevance (Useful and original content), Transparent (Separate sponsors and ads, contact information, describes your business), easy to navigate

– The relevance of your selected keywords from your ads

– The relevance of your keywords selected from the research of your customers

– Geographical Performance : What are your performance in the regions you have targeted?

– Ads performance on a site : (If you  put Ads on the Display Network = Website affiliated to Google)

– Your Targeted Devices : What are the performance in each devices ? (Laptop/Desktop, Mobile, Tablets)

If you respect the most part of these advises, your Quality Score should approach 10. Your eligibility for ad auction will increase, your Cost per Click (CPC) will decrease. You have also more chance to be on the first Google research page and in the top of the page. To conclude, your Ad position will be better and you will pay less, it’s a GOOOOOD DEAL !

You have finished the basic lessons soon, continue like that !!

How budget strategy work ?

How budget strategy work ?

In this lesson, we gonna learn together the basics of budget strategy.

What is the difference between traditional advertising campaign and online campaigns ?

The use of online campaign to promote a good or a service is much better for beginners. Why ? It’s easy for measuring performance and also control expenses. In addition, the time between initial investment and return is shorter. Google AdWords is flexible, you can change at any moment your budget. You must adapt your budget based on performance. More you gain, much you budget must be high.

When your campaign doesn’t work such as you wish, you have to isolate part of your campaign and remove it, if necessary.

When you’ve reach more customers, you are more profitable. That’s why it’s important for you to put more money for advertising. I can advice you to define a scale of budget  in order to prevent evolution of traffic on your website. Sometimes, there is more customers that you had expected, you could loose a lot of money if you miss them. If there is less traffic, it’s not important because you don’t pay more.

For Example : You have a daily budget of 100$, you can put a scale between 100$ and 150$. The traffic is very flexible, then be careful because you miss many customers.  At the contrary, you mustn’t put 1000$ because you are not protected against traffic sudden shift. Test each time by increasing a little bit to be sure that your settings are not harmful for you.

This strategy is not for every company read the following informations below :

Scale by performance is a good budget strategy for :

– Selling goods or services

– Sales team (generating leads)

– Subscription (signs-up)

Make this strategy only if :

– You are able to do an estimation of your conversion value (difference between the costs of advertising and revenues)

– You know, the time having your profits available to reinvest

– your Cost for serving new customers decreased

It is preferable not to do this strategy if you have cash flow limitations, sales tracking limitations or customers services limitations.

We have the same goal for our online advertising campaigns, its growth. It means that we are searching for profitability. There are 3 stages for an Adwords Campaign : Testing, Growth and Maturity

How to manage this 3 stages ?

1- Testing : After comparing performance data, you can test new keywords, CPC bids or Ad Combination. Don’t forget to compare costs and revenues to remain profitable.

For Example : If one keyword doesn’t work, remove it and create a new one.

2- Growth : When you have reached more customers, increase your Daily Budget, adjust CPC, remove non-performing keywords and ads. Go to “Budget” to know more about that. Google AdWords will give you a recommended budget to help you.

3- Maturity : Check that you are really profitable ! Now your budget is high enough to appear all the time, then don’t miss an eligible impression. You have to check also Costs, Profits and sales. All of these data must have a regular fluctuations based in search volume.

Give me a “Like” to encourage me 🙂

How to maximize performance with bidding strategy ?

How to maximize performance with bidding strategy ?

The most important in the bidding strategy is to balance sales volume and profitability. That’s means you need to focus on one objective to be efficient. In general, the conversion rate don’t vary much with Ad Position.

For example : Your ad at the 7th position has generated more conversions than the ad in the top 3. Maybe is better to focus on most profitable ads before others.

Here are the different relationships related to the strategy of bidding :

– If you increase your bids : You will have more conversions but the average Cost-Per-Acquisition (CPA) will be higher.

– If you decrease your bids : You will have less conversions but the average Cost-Per-Acquisition (CPA) will be lower.

– If you increase your bids (with a limited Daily Budget) : You will have less conversions and you Cost-Per-Acquisition (CPA) will be higher.

What is CPA ? It’s an online advertising pricing model. This is the amount you pay for each conversion of a client. Conversions are linked to Purchases, Subscriptions, and to the research of new lead… this is an average, then the CPA can change based on your bids. More you pay for bid, more your CPA is high.

How to calculate your CPA ?

CPA = Ad Campaign Cost / (Number of Impressions * CTR* CR)

CTR = Click-through rate CR = Customers
Example : You pay a campaign CPM (Cost per mille) of 5$. For 3000 impressions, you receive 5% of CTR to the landing page. There is 30% of those 5% who buy something on your website.

CPA = ((5 * 3000Impressions) / 1000) / (3000 * 5% * 30%)

CPA = (15000 / 1000) / (3000*0,05*0,30) = 15/45 = 0,33$

Each time a customer bought something, your cost is 0,33$.

As i told you before, the best is to focus on one objective. Goals could be very different and sometimes contradictory for your business. Generally goals are not mutually compatible. It’s important to think about your most important goal, you have to do tradeoffs.

Example of a campaign with these objectives :

– Aim Ad Position 1-3

– Maximize Profit

– Maximize Conversions

– Maximize Clicks

If you think only about the 3 highest ranked, it’s could be not a good solution. Perhaps the 7th position is more profitable.

– Keep a CPA below 10$

The CPC bids necessary to keep CPA below 10$ may be lower than the CPC bids than maximize your profit, clicks or preferred Ad Position.

You can see the conflict between this two different objectives. Choosing one of them is the best way to succeed.

That’s all for this lesson,

But i would like to thank several people, more precisely the first followers of my blog.

THANK YOU VERY MUCH TO : Jaytheanalyst, Tash Tomas, Jenn, Kylie Bannink, Rickywrightseo, Henry Brady and Ed Kirwan.

Don’t hesitate to send me an email at “lamirse@hotmail.fr” if you have any suggestions 😛